When there is too much to do…

‘You got so much to do… and only so many hours in the day’ ~ Billy Joel

Having too many things to do and feeling overwhelmed? Well, so was I.  I tend to be enthusiastic in saying ‘Yes’ and keep taking up new responsibilities.  With the year end coming up – there seems to be no end of work and play that one wants to be an active part of!

So I came up with an EFT script to help me feel more balanced and centered while handling all these pending items on my list.  And it worked well for me, so would like to share it here…

The following assumes that you are familiar with Emotional Freedom Techniques.   You can refer to the one pager to get started and if you find it useful, you can always find more material on the net.  My book ‘Emotional Freedom Techniques’  can also be ordered online.

I am using the Short Cut here (not the Basic Recipe given in the one-pager).

So take out a couple of minutes for  yourself, drink a glass of water and lets tap our way to a better way to work:

Karate Chop:

Even though I am feeling overwhelmed by my ‘to-do’ list, I love myself anyway.

Even though it feels like I will never get it all done, I accept myself anyway.

Even though my attention is running in all different directions, I forgive myself anyway.

Eyebrow: Too many things to do

Side of the eye: Can’t complete even one

Under the eye: Because I keep thinking of the others

Under the nose: And running between tasks

Chin: Tired

Collarbone:  Scattered

Under the Arm: Annoyed

Top of the head:  This is no way to work

Karate Chop:

I remind myself that I took up all these tasks, and they are important in some way

And I am thankful for this overwhelmed feeling, because I am learning every day

To accept only those actions that are in alignment with my priorities and useful in some way

Eyebrow:   I take a deep breath

Side of the eye: And relax

Under the eye: Coming into the now

Under the nose: Admiring how my body

Chin: Multitasks all the while

Collarbone: All systems running harmoniously

Under the Arm: Everything exactly the way it should be

Top of the head: I can do all this too –  efficient, yet working easefully

Karate Chop:

Even though I get flustered, I see it is easy now

Even though there are so many things to do, the variety makes it interesting too

Even though it feels challenging, there is a part of me that is smiling

Eyebrow:  All these errands to run

Side of the eye: They can be such fun

Under the eye: Afraid I will mess it up

Under the nose: Grateful for all the rewards my efforts have got

Chin: Will it ever get done in time?

Collarbone: I know that I can handle everything just fine

Under the Arm: Shouldn’t have taken on more than I can chew

Top of the head:  I am learning and growing every day – now feeling fresh and new!

Take a deep breath, and exhale slowly.

 

Feeling better?

My poem ‘Greener Pastures‘ can also be used as a related EFT tapping script.  Don’t worry about any counter habits being installed… when we are tapping – the system gets balanced, no matter whether you use negative or positive statements.  In fact, that is one of the advantages of EFT – you can simply state matters the way they are without pretending otherwise!

You may also find this mind map depicting Stephen Covey’s Time Management Matrix useful.

Let me know if any of this helped 🙂

3 thoughts on “When there is too much to do…

  1. Thank you Sangeeta! And thank you EFT.

    It is SO amazing that we have the gift of teachers and systems that can help us through these crazy stressful times.

    Every word of yours was healing.

Leave a Reply

