Poems: I See You

Even if you don’t see me

Know that I am there

Even if you don’t hear me

With every breath – I care

Even if you can’t feel my hug

Notice the warmth in the air

Love is not always about protection

Or ‘sorting it out’ for you

It is even more prevalent

In letting you groom

Your own talents and confidence

Testing the waters of the world

Facing the brick bats and stumbles

Allowing a scar or two

Reminders of lessons learned

And wars well fought by you

Do not doubt my love

Because I let you cry silent tears

It is from experience that I know

They will wash away the pain and fears

Do not wonder if I have abandoned you

Know I stand even more true

For it takes real courage

And deep love

To step aside

And simply watch you

7 thoughts on “Poems: I See You

Leave a Reply

