Poems: A Play of Light

I sketched an outline of the world I dreamed

And invited light to bring it to life

It poured in fluid, generous and colourful,

Spilling over, blurring the lines.

I was taken aback as before my eyes

All the boundaries melted away

And though this was not what I had wanted,

It was better in its own way.

Light can leave no crevices unlit,

Vacuums unfilled,

Or shadows hidden,

It does not discriminate between what โ€œshould beโ€

And all that can happen.

With equal acceptance and loving grace for both

The canvas was now filled

With a bright and complete universe

There was some surprise,

Some grief and even some regret

For my surrendered plans

That had been laid to rest.

Yet, eventually I raised my hands

In grateful prayer

With a heart full of thanks…

It may have taken a while,

But finally,

Now, I understand.

4 thoughts on “Poems: A Play of Light

Leave a Reply

