Anything of true value only multiplies with sharing…

This note was first published on FB on Aug 18, 2010.  Since then, I am happy to report that my practice of letting go of what I love, and also those I love,  has only deepened.  I have found that non-attachment (as against detachment) deepens love and brings a great lightness to the heart.

Just In Time

Books have been an inherent part of my life. Over the years, I selected them carefully and guarded them closely. They have been a source of inspiration, wisdom, laughter, tears and so much more.

For many years, I would conduct an interview before even lending a book. Will you look after it? Make sure you don’t fold the pages! When will you bring it back? Family and friends would be exasperated, but put up with it because I really had some great books! Many were expensive or hard to get hold of.

 But all that changed about ten months back. Sheetal began discussing how his collection was gathering dust and he wanted to give them away. He suggested I should do the same. Sheetal told me to imagine how much difference the books could make to another’s life. Just as they had impacted me – another would benefit. As I listened to him, I realized that I had read many of them several times and it was easier to look up material on the internet now, then to search through the books.

I was simply holding on, because it was hard to let go.

I reminded myself of all the lessons I have learned over the years – the important one being that nothing is permanent. It was unrealistic to cling to objects and try to keep things unchanged.

Besides, Sheetal’s argument was highly persuasive and with a deep breath I agreed. Sheetal immediately carted away dozens of my books, clearing one shelf at a time.

The stagnant energy was suddenly flowing and I could feel the bookcase, the room – myself feeling lighter.

It felt really good to imagine those beautiful masterpieces finding new lives to touch.

Together with some of Sheetal’s books, and other such donations we set up ‘Spread the Word’ at The Urban Ashram. This is a library which has no cards, no supervision. People are encouraged to take books and pass them on. They may also add to the collection if they wish.

Each time I visited the Urban Ashram, my satisfaction grew and I felt happy with my decision. I continued giving away my books to who ever asked for one. I shared the idea with many others. There were mixed reactions. Some thought it made no sense. Some family and friends who have known me long enough, called up to check if I was okay! But many others took to the idea with enthusiasm and began moving their own prized possessions.

When I spoke to Arun about this, we discussed how abundance principles, Misogi, space clearing, and so many teachings and practices support such movement. He also said something that stayed with me. Arun said that instead of ‘Just in time’ inventory, we tend to accumulate material ‘Just in case’ we ever need it again. But if we are willing to trust the process of life, let go and be in flow, we can count on the universe providing us whatever is needed – ‘Just in time’!

So this entire exercise had yielded a lot of positivity and learnings for a lot of people, including myself. Because you really learn when you practice the teachings that appeal to you.

Until yesterday.

Last evening, I remembered my favorite comic books – ‘Calvin and Hobbes’. They were particularly precious to me, not only because I thoroughly enjoy them, but they were possibly the last of Sameer’s possessions I had held onto for all these years. I felt a brief moment of sadness when I realized I no longer had them. I had given away the entire collection to Sheetal. I re-minded myself how everything is in divine order and the universe is constantly looking out for me. What I truly need is provided in the moment. I thought of how much Sheetal had been enjoying them and smiled and moved on.

I have been on a sabbatical and mostly keeping to myself.  But today, Sheetal called and insisted on meeting me. So I went to meet him and we had a nice chat over some other matters. As I was leaving, he called me back and handed over three Calvin and Hobbes! I was stunned at the timing and even more at what he said. He realized that it was difficult for him to pass on these particular books as he found them too precious himself. So he thought to himself, how hard it must have been for me to give them away. They are a part of you and you should have them back, he told me. When I told him I had missed them only yesterday, he said they had not been getting attention – lost in all my other books, but with less of them, they were now back when they were called from the heart.

What lovely validation from the universe.

I really do feel taken care of right now.

And emboldened to trust life more and more every day – We are provided what we need – Just in Time.

4 thoughts on “Anything of true value only multiplies with sharing…

  1. So serene and beautiful…yes when things and people are meant to be with us, they return…and the gratitude is doubled….and that is one of the acts I find my self-love gets heightened in – letting go. It makes me respect myself for who I truly am.
    Thanks. Love 🙂

Leave a Reply

