Why I am wary of seeking ‘instant manifestation’.

A time there is to plant,
And sow; another time to pluck and reap.
~ Ecclesiastes 3:2

In a world that desperately seeks instant gratification, patience is a difficult word to digest.  From so many directions, we are bombarded with ideas of ‘intention’ and ‘manifestation’, that few of us pause to consider the appropriateness of our wants and demands.  The immediacy and urgency that we insist upon can leave us frantic, frustrated and misguided.

For those of us who are sensitive to energies, the openness, or receptivity of the moment is more easily noticeable.  Nor are we oblivious to the indications that this is a period of waiting.

Just like the land needs its fallow time, and a fruit must ripen to its readiness, everything has a natural rhythm.

But in our haste to meet our desires, we often ignore that there is a divine timing that needs to be respected.  

I find many reminders around me on a routine basis. They are required.

A recent one involved my lessons from gardening:

With great enthusiasm and hope, I planted some coriander seeds. I watered the soil and sunned it for days, but there was no sign of life. After I recovered from this disappointment, I half-heartedly planted some dried chilly seeds. Again, my hopes of seeing some greens shoots seemed dashed. I decided I am too novice a gardener to ever grow a plant from its seed stage. So, in quiet resignation, I planted a young aloe vera plant, which I know are more resilient and strong. Even this took a while to grow and my impatience and concern was beginning to return. Finally new shoots appeared and I knew the plant had now taken root.

Some days later, as I appreciated the same plant pot, I saw a few green leaves popping out from where I thought all hope had been lost…The chilly seeds had woken up. It was their time to shine. And how. They grew out with such speed and vibrancy that the pot is now green, abundant and full.  Decided to leave the yin-yang crop together – its a good reminder of the lessons learnt from this ordinary incidence.

Lessons learnt:

  • Don’t project an old experience into the future.
  • Treat every new opportunity with respect and care.
  • Every potential takes its own time to ripen;
    do not rush it, give up on it, or kill it in your impatient despair.
Yin-Yang pot of Chilly and Aloe Vera!
5 thoughts on “Why I am wary of seeking ‘instant manifestation’.

  1. Just yesterday I was commenting to my husband about my challenges with patience. I adore knowing what is coming in the future, but at times it makes being present and holding still with the seeming slowness of the current clock trajectory of now rather a challenge. I LOVE your aloe and pepper plant reminder related to this. Whose time frame are we growing (and flowing) on anyway? 🙂

    Very much enjoying your post. Nature (and those who then wisely observe and gracefully share) is the best and purest teacher. Thank you for your precious reminder left so fortuitously for me to find this morning. I am looking forward to reading more of your blog.

    1. Thank you so much! Nature is indeed a pure teacher and I enjoy ruminating over all that it so effortlessly offers 🙂

      Looking forward to your posts as well, thank you!

Leave a Reply

